Welcome to new PhD student Jiao Dan

We are very pleased to welcome Jiao Dan to the Department of Linguistics, to study for a PhD under the supervision of Dr Heidi Quinn. In this guest post, Jiao Dan introduces herself. Welcome to Christchurch, and UC!


jiaodanHi, everyone, I am Jiao Dan from China. This is my first time in New Zealand; I was and still am very excited to be here.

Back in China, I spent 18 years studying, which is really cool, because education makes me knowledgeable, confident and creative. After graduating from my Bachelor degree, I directly went to my Master degree in Shanghai Jiao Tong University; therefore, I got a wonderful opportunity to stay at Shanghai for three years, which is also really cool.

During this time, I met lots of people and learned a lot from them as well. Besides studying, I had several part- time jobs. One was being a Chinese teacher at the School of International Education in Shanghai Jiao Tong University. I teach Chinese to lovely people from all over the world. This one and half years teaching makes me more interested in language teaching and linguistics, and is probably one of many reasons that I choose linguistics to be my subject here at UC. Apart from Chinese teaching, I also worked at a famous bank- HSBC later on. However, I did not become a bank teller or businesswoman, I am here, luckily.

The two main reasons that I choose UC for my PhD study are its academic reputation and international orientation. To be here is a whole new experience for me, everything looks fun and fresh, and everybody looks nice, friendly and patient. It seems that I can develop myself more and make huge progress.

I just arrived here one month ago, but I am already falling in love with this city, and I am looking forward to seeing what will happen next.

About uclinguistics

Welcome to the blog of the Linguistics programme at the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in UC Linguistics news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

