Welcome to new PhD student Darcy Rose

We are very pleased to welcome Darcy Rose to the Department of Linguistics, to study for a PhD under the supervision of Professor Beth Hume. In this guest post, Darcy introduces herself. Welcome to Christchurch, and UC!


CodyDarcyHi, I’m Darcy Rose, originally from beautiful Fort Collins, Colorado, in the USA. I did my undergraduate work at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, where I studied Linguistics and French and played on the Mean Green varsity basketball team. After graduating, I lived in Montpellier, France for two years, working first as an English Language Teaching Assistant, then as a Lecturer in English at the Medical Faculty of the University of Montpellier. During this time, I spent my summers leading adventure travel trips for teens, crossing Europe from Amsterdam to Barcelona on a completely self-supported bike trip!

After saying goodbye to the south of France, I moved to Bloomington, Indiana, where I completed my Master’s degree in Linguistics at the University of Indiana. My main linguistic interests are phonology and phonetics, although I dabble in signal processing, computational linguistics and corpus linguistics. When not working on linguistics, I enjoy playing basketball, cycling and reading science fiction.

At the University of Canterbury, my research will focus on the phonetics and phonology of Maltese, specifically looking at dialectal differences. I decided to come to Canterbury not only for the expertise of the faculty, but also the interdisciplinary orientation of the department and the opportunity to explore this section of the globe.

Accompanying me on this adventure is my partner Cody Hedges, an amazing guy from the (slightly less) amazing town of Clinton, Indiana, who also recently graduated from IU. We’re still getting settled, but we know where the libraries and pubs are, so we’re off to a good start!

 

About uclinguistics

Welcome to the blog of the Linguistics programme at the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in UC Linguistics news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

