Hello from PhD student Arshad Ali

Arshad Ali is a PhD candidate in the Department of Linguistics, under the supervision of Dr Kevin Watson and Dr Lynn Clark. In this guest post, he introduces himself and his interesting research.


AALIHi, I am Arshad Ali, originally from Islamabad, the capital city of Pakistan.  I did BA (Hons) in English language and literature followed by a Masters in English from International Islamic University Islamabad. After that, I completed my Masters of Philosophy in Linguistics with a special focus on Phonetics and Sociolinguistics from the Air University Islamabad. I also worked as visiting research scholar at the University of North Texas where I got an opportunity to interact with academics from departments of English and Linguistics.

Before coming to Christchurch, I worked for 10 years as a Lecturer and then Assistant Professor at Department of English Language and Linguistics, National University of Modern Languages (NUML) Islamabad Pakistan. Besides being a full time academic at NUML, I also served as visiting Faculty member at International Islamic University, Bahria University and COMSATS Institute of Information Technology Islamabad. Besides teaching, I have served as script writer, voice over artist and guest speaker with some media production houses and TV channels in Pakistan.

My current research plans deal with the study of phonetic features using variationist methods. Much of the work carried out on the sociolinguistics of English deals with people who either are native speakers of English or 2nd language speakers of English who are living in an English dominant country. We know much less about how social factors might influence the pronunciation of L2 speakers of English in their home countries. My research project explores the impact of social and demographic factors on the speech of English speakers in Pakistan.

I have been here at University of Canterbury since October 2015 for my PhD studies in linguistics working with my supervisors, Dr Kevin Watson and Dr Lynn Clark. I am thankful to them for their contribution in the development of my PhD project. I would also extend my thanks to all the marvelous members of linguistics community especially Professor Jan Hay, Professor Beth Hume, Associate Professor Una Cunningham, Associate Professor Jeannette king , Dr. Clay Beckner and Dr Ksenia Gnevsheva for their valuable feedback during my presentations.

About uclinguistics

Welcome to the blog of the Linguistics programme at the University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in UC Linguistics news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

